Opps!! I am not able to ping to my own system but I could ping others

This happens in the embedded very often when you are desingning your target file system fom scratch or modifing the exsisting one. I came accross same situation. and thinking why and finally figured out root for problem.

#ifconfig eth0 netmask up

Now my interface is up. So to check it I do a ping to some system ( my network gateway )

# ping

Ping is sucessful. Now ping my own IP


Now it fails…. what could be the problem for this. ? I was looking around the kernel configs, driver etc,. but no solution.

And finaly I did type just ifconfig alone in the prompt and found there is no loopback interface up. I brought up the interface up and now I am able to ping by own IP.


Now passed.

Leave a Reply

